A Space Between

Fells Point, Baltimore

Fells Point, Baltimore

Against a tall black fence, I lean,
Standing under a gull’s cry,
Peering through a space between.

The Harbor offers much to glean,
And that’s precisely why
Against a tall black fence, I lean.

Under foot are tufts of green.
They battled brick just to try
Peering through a space between.

It is lovely and serene,
Water within reach, but sigh,
Against a tall black fence, I lean.

I press against the metal screen,
Hoping for more to spy,
Peering through a space between.

And I am part of this Harbor scene,
Viewed by all those passing by—
Against a tall black fence, I lean,
Peering through a space between.

4 thoughts on “A Space Between

Leave a Reply

