The Diner

New York City

New York City

It’s eight o’clock–
An early start.
I have far to walk.
I’ll find a place to eat–
A favorite diner.
It’s on 34th Street.
I see it on my right–
A neon sign.
The chrome is bright.
People wait around the door–
A hungry crowd.
I’ll have to wait a little more.
Soon I have my little space–
A cozy booth.
It’s a perfect place.
The server brings my plate–
A hearty dish.
It was worth the wait.
Now, I’m ready for that long walk–
A tour of the city.
It’s nine o’clock.

Leave a Reply

